Murrison Cup 2012

Harwich & Dovercourt MYC hosted the Murrison Cup on Sunday 21st October 2012 at their Dovercourt seafront venue.

Nine skippers braved the very wet conditions as the OOD, David Kerridge, set a traditional Triangle and Sausage Course with all boats on top suits. The visitors soon mastered the conditions, with Mark Dennis winning three of the first four races, and the host club had to wait until race 7 to post a win, when Jon Alexander was successful. Mark remained dominant with Jon and Graham Bartholomew fighting out the other podium places. Terry Burton was also successful, winning on two occasions but seemed to lack consistency. Racing was keenly fought throughout the fleet, with Vicki Mills breaking into the top three on 7 occasions, giving her the upper hand over local rivals Geoff Earle and Robin Bloyce. Unfortunately the wet gremlins forced Nigel Gilson to retire early, whilst Malcolm Schaffer experienced gear failure after 9 races. Eighteen races were completed, all sailed in an excellent spirit.

Congratulations to Mark Dennis from Chelmsford RYC on winning the trophy with17 points, Jon Alexander from the host club second on 42 points and Graham Bartholomew from Chelmsford RYC third with 47 points

Please click on Results for full details.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s