Murrison Cup

On Sunday 4th October 2015 Harwich and Dovercourt Model Boat Club hosted the Murrison Inter Club Cup open meeting.

This event normally held annually dates back to the early 1960’s. The event this year started with very light winds of variable direction, but benefited from a warm cloudless day.

The OOD David Kerridge therefore had his work cut out laying a course to give a purposeful beat to the windward mark. Despite variable wind direction, which at times defied the met office predictions a course was laid for all races that in general met with the challenges that skippers enjoy.

With an entry of 12 boats, the event was started with two seeding races, and then continued for the remainder of the day using a fleet A & B format.

As the day progressed the wind increased to a steady, but still light breeze, and the OOD had to contend with quite sudden changes in wind direction. All skippers were very well behaved, undertaking penalty turns when protested, and with the exception of one race, which resulted in a retirement, all protests were settled while afloat.

HD MBC would like to thank all skippers for their participation in this annual event, along with those who supported the event as scorers and observers, and in particular a special thank you to our retiring sailing secretary Mike Collins for all the hard work and dedication he has given for greater good of Harwich & Dovercourt Model Boat Club.

After seven races the finishing order for the 5 prizes awarded was:

1st Colin Goodman Coalhouse Fort MBC  10 points.

2nd Malcolm Harris Chelmsford RYC  13 points.

3rd Mark Dennis Chelmsford RYC 20 points.

4th Jon Alexandra HD MBC 20 points.

5th Graham Bartholomew Coalhouse Fort MBC 22 points.


Sail # Club/City Hull Score
1 C. Goodman 92 Coalhouse Fort Fraktal 10.0
2 M. Harris 88 Chelmsford Britpop 13.0
3 J. Alexander 29 H&DMBC Britpop 20.0
4 M. Dennis 19 Chelmsford Britpop 20.0
5 G. Bartholemew 65 Coalhouse Fort V8 22.0
6 N. Ennion 49 H&DMBC Britpop 32.0
7 K. Whiddett 56 Broads Britpop 38.0
8 N. Gilson 37 H&DMBC ANCH3c 39.0
9 V. Mills 6 H&DMBC MX16 40.0
10 R. Bloyce 161 H&DMBC Stealth 49.0
11 C. Easdale – Pearson 174 H&DMBC Goth Evo 3 53.0
12 A. Seymour 46 Southend Shiraz 58.0

Report and results courtesy of Garry Millett

HD MBC Sailing secretary



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s